Immersive Story Methods is Live

John Kim’s terrific article from Push 1, Immersive Story Methods for Tabletop Play, is now nicely formatted and available on Bleeding Play. John lays out a solid set of guidelines for running a style of tabletop campaign in which one of the central goals is for the characters to explore their imaginary environment physically, socially, and emotionally.

Hopefully I can get the rest of these up this weekend, now that I’m less focused on other projects. Three more to go.

3 Responses to Immersive Story Methods is Live

  1. Rob says:

    Great, Push was a great product.

    I’ll be linking to this from my blog to encourage players to read it. The issue of “is it the group’s story” or “is the stories of the different characters” is something that resonates in any traditional RPG played campaign style.

    The pressure on a GM to somehow “weave it all” and “ration spotlight” is one of the worse aspects of this style of play, and the article’s emphasis on Player responsibilities is great.

  2. Don says:

    Thanks for having push 1 up. I’m currently working on my master’s thesis on role-playing in japan, and I heard through another paper about push and it looked really good and I was hoping to be able to read it. I can’t wait for push 2. It looks like you had a print version available at some point and I’d like to purchase both 1 and 2 if they are still out. I went to the link for the “Print version” but the link was dead. If it’s still out do you think you could shoot me a link or something where I could get my hands on 1 and possibly 2?

  3. jonathan says:

    I’ve scheduled a post about this project on my own blog for tomorrow. This is simply amazing stuff. Thank you ! It looks beautiful and reads well. Dead on center with my current thinking about RPGs – along with many things I have not given enough (or any) thought to. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

